According to Rule 16.3, the ball must be in its own pitch mark as a consequence of the prior stroke for it to be embedded.
Instead, Rule 9.6 is in effect, which means there is no penalty and you must replace the ball. Rule 14.2d then instructs you on how to do so since the lie was adjusted. That is in the lie that is one club length away from the ball, most comparable to the original lie, not closer to the hole, and in the same region of the course as the ball’s original location.
And keep in mind Whitney’s words of wisdom: “Never walk in anyone’s shadow.”
My rival in stroke play missed his tee shot over a pond, but the ball got stuck on its muddy bank, which wasn’t marked as being off limits. He took relief in the general region and claimed alleviation for the imbedded ball. I didn’t agree, but it was late and I needed to wrap things up. What was the right decision?
Numerous terrible verdicts, like this one, have resulted from the desire to complete a round or just put an argument to rest without using forceful language or guns in the early hours.
Even if it isn’t staked, a body of water like a pond is still a penalty area. The natural bounds of the edge, in this instance the point where the earth slopes downward toward the water, define it when it is not specified by the committee in charge.
The muddy bank seems to be in the penalty area, and as a result, your fellow competitor was not entitled to embedded ball relief since, in accordance with Rule 17.3, there is no relief for other regulations while the ball is in the penalty area. Your reputation is on the line there.
Original article posted on Golf.com
Photo credit: garia.com